How I Use Social Media

Posted: January 25, 2011 in Public Relations, Topics of the Week

I began using Facebook about two and a half years ago when I came to college. My parents did not let me get a Facebook account until I came to school here at Southeastern. When I started a Facebook I was rushed with a lot of emotions, per say. First, it was a brand new experience and I was like a kid in a candy store as it was all-new to me and I couldn’t wait to see what every little thing did. People were all surprised when I had one because I hadn’t for the longest time. It was great adding all my friends from high school and being able to stay in touch with them through my college years. However, I quickly found out that they did not want as much of that as I did, and I slowly lost touch with them, which resulted in no longer being Facebook friends and being connected with them. However, with the many more friends I have made through my years in college I use Facebook for what it’s meant for and keeping in touch with my friends from Florida.

I use social media for primarily that, keeping in touch with friends and making new ones. I am a part of many social websites, from Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and Dailybooth. I have met a slew of amazing people and some of my closest friends are from the internet who I haven’t met yet. However, that doesn’t mean they aren’t my friends. I use the social media for that purpose mostly. I make new friends, grow close to them, and know that they are going to be friends for life. I have a Tumblr to keep my thoughts down somewhere and post whatever is on my mind, and what I love in life. I have it so that I can look back at it in the future and remember the struggles and great times I went through and how I got to where I am now, and in the future. The social media helps me a lot in many ways, and I am very thankful for it.

Leave a Reply

