Publics

Posted: January 28, 2011 in Public Relations, Topics of the Week

The world of public relations is very wide and vast. PR professionals have to figure out how to reach all kinds of people for certain products. These many areas, or publics, can vary from person to person. I know that I am probably in a lot of them, but for this article I will focus on three.

First off, and simplest, I am a college student. This area is a very important one, as PR professionals have to figure out how to advertise something so that it fits our daily needs. As a college student, I don’t have a whole lot of money to my name and finding a job nowadays in this economy is very difficult, so I’m pretty much stuck with what I have till I can go back home and to my seasonal job that I have to make some more money for my return to school. I didn’t really choose to be a part of this public, it was more so thrust upon me when I continued my education at Southeastern University.  So far it has been a wild and fun adventure, and I’m hoping it stays that way with as little stress as possible.

Secondly, I am definitely what one would call a “gamer”. I love video games. I love movies. I love everything to do with the Xbox. When I’m at home I spend a lot of my time playing Rock Band, Halo, or Call of Duty online with my friends. It is a great way to relieve stress, or create new ones if I do poorly in the game. However, most of the time it is a great way to wind down from a long day at work and spend some time with my friends who live states away.

Thirdly, I am definitely very tech-savvy. I can figure out my way around a computer very easily and can usually figure out the problem very quickly and how to solve it. This has come in handy many times as I often have to help out my parents and some friends when they run into difficulties of their own and need help solving something.

These are probably the biggest publics I am currently in right now, and will probably stay in the latter two for a very long time. I hope I don’t remain a student for the remainder of my days. That would be kind of a bummer.

Leave a Reply

