Blog Comments!

Posted: February 12, 2011 in Blog Comments

1. This actually doesn’t really surprise me. The only thing that came to a big shock was YouTube. I feel that YouTube could be a really large resource sometimes, and a lot of people and companies use YouTube to post their own videos that deal with certain aspects of their product, company, etc. The same goes for Twitter, as a lot of companies use Twitter as a source of PR.
I can understand to an extent why YouTube would be banned, as you said with the music and television shows, but a lot of important things are on there too that could benefit the company in the end. I guess it depends on the company and the bosses.

Link

2. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Canon. My best friend has a Canon, a lot of my friends do. One of my friends even yelled at me for having a Samsung instead of a Canon so she couldn’t borrow the battery charger for it.
Canon seems to know what’s up in helping their customers. Seems like this is a great way to help their customers out and keep them interested, and a great deal and way for you to get your new camera. Heck, now I’m excited for you!

Link

3. I thought this was a great post about using an ordinary holiday treat to relate it to something related to PR and everyday life. I myself don’t find the appeal to them because I think they taste just like Tums and don’t use them, but seeing how we can relate something that deals with Valentine’s Day to our future careers in the PR world is a pretty neat thing to do.

Link

4. I thought this was very interesting, because my professor in my Public Relations class, Barbara Nixon, just informed us of LinkedIn and how we should really be using it. Not to say that this will persuade me against using it, but it is definitely something that should be looked more in to.

Link

5. I definitely agree with you on this. One of my dad’s coworkers got an iPad 1 a few weeks before they announced that 2 was coming out. He wasn’t too happy with it. Also, after doing research on it, a lot of people are coming across slight difficulties and issues with their devices, something that should be worked out before releasing them all to the public. I am pretty sure my dad got me one for my birthday and I should be getting it soon, so hopefully I will have better luck with mine. But I do agree with you that Apple, and many other companies, should wait longer than just a short year before releasing the next upgraded device.

Link

6. I think this is a great article, thank you for posting it. I really agree with you that social media has had a huge impact on journalism and it is something to really look in to. As a college student with a minor in journalism, it is really interesting to see this all take place, especially in my generation. I am really curious to see where it will go in the future. It is definitely something to look in to.

Link

7. This is awesome! I am so glad I found out about this. I’ve only really ever had them once or twice, but I loved them. I keep hearing about them and whenever I do I crave them so much. Frozen Thin Mints are amazing. Hopefully this will help me get some of my own now!

Link

8. This is terrible. It really surprises me what some companies will do with advertising, and their word choices on the advertisements. They don’t really seem to think about the consequences that will come when they publish such ads and just go with it because they think it will catch the attention of a lot of people. This is a prime example of that.

Link

9. This is a great post. I’m really glad I saw this because I wasn’t able to attend and this was a good way of finding out how it went and what happened. I’m definitely going to have to look this up even more now. (April 15, 2011)

Link

10. I really enjoyed reading your list of things you learned this year. It’s great to see what other people learned throughout the semester and compare it to your own, and see what you agree on and then what others found more out on. I think your last point is great and definitely something to learn from and grow upon. (April 15, 2011)

Link

11. Now that I’ve read this I think I’ll just skip your presentation Cody. HA! Just kidding. It was great to read this and get a preview of what you’re going to be presenting on in class. I’m excited to see more of what you have to say about it. (April 15, 2011)

Link

12. This is a really good post. I just got an iPad 2 for my birthday last week and I definitely understand this whole area more. Apple opened a whole new world for smartphones and tablets, breaking through with the iPhone and iPad originally, it opened the doorway for all these other companies to come through with their own creations. Now we see the Google phones and Android’s everywhere as well. It’s good for the industry so that Apple doesn’t remain a monopoly, but if Google doesn’t win, it will be very surprising. Google seems to own everything. (April 15, 2011)

Link

13. This relates so much to my life. Personally I’m an XBOX 360 guy. If anyone mentions me playing or touching a Playstation, I immediately withdraw. It’s the fanboy in me that automatically hates the system and what they have to offer. I have always preferred Microsoft’s consoles to Sony and Nintendo’s, and that’s just personal preference. I know everyone has their preference, and I always respect that, but I also have mine and stick to it like a die hard fan of anything would. (April 15, 2011)

Link

14. I think this game will always create controversy. People either hate it or love it. I know it’s a great way to make new friends and be social with a whole new slew of people, but for some it’s just an annoyance and a tragedy waiting for happen. I think it’s sad how much of a bad rep it gets from those who hate it without participating or even looking at the benefits of the game. It’s really just their loss. I personally think it’s awesome and sometimes I wish I took a part this semester again. (April 15, 2011)

Link

15. Starbucks is amazing. Who doesn’t love Starbucks? I feel like it’s a sin not to. Personally I think their bacon egg and cheese sandwiches are the most delicious ones on the face of the planet. This is a great post about the company and how well of a job they do at marketing and luring people in. It’s definitely working and I don’t think it will ever stop. (April 15, 2011)

Link

16. I never really thought Miley would die out, but after everything that has happened in the last year with her family issues and career, it doesn’t surprise me. Especially with all the new upcoming talent like Bieber and now even Rebecca Black if we can even consider her, it doesn’t surprise me that Miley’s time has come and gone. But we also thought that about Britney, and here she is coming back, so maybe Miley will have her time to shine again. (April 15, 2011)

Link

17. You know, I bet the Zuckmeister never imagined his college side project to keep his friends together would grow to be this big, let alone have a movie based upon the struggles of it. Facebook has taken control of lives everywhere, many are addicted to it, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t one of those. People are on Facebook 24/7, and I definitely know what you mean about the addiction aspect of it. I really can’t imagine life without Facebook. In many ways, it would be easier, but in many ways, life could also be a lot more difficult without it. (April 15, 2011)

Link

18. This is a great list of top ten. I agree with Barbara that networking definitely needs to be in there because of it’s importance. The music addition is a great thing to have, as I know for me, I hate silence and usually read with some kind of ambient, peaceful music behind it, and that made this post all the better to read and go through. (April 15, 2011)

Link

19. This is a very interesting and great post. I’ve been to Hawaii on vacation with my parents twice, but I think that’s all I could do there, is vacation. I can’t imagine living there, especially now after seeing that it is the number one place of bad living. I’m glad that where I’m from, CT, wasn’t on the list. That gives me a sense of hope still. (April 15, 2011)

Link

20. This is a great list Barb. Your blog is great and I think it’s really cool how similar some of our top ten lists are. I definitely agree with you on a lot of these and think it’s great seeing what others learned compared to me. (April 15, 2011)

Link

Leave a Reply

